

N3B-Los Alamos 1200 Trinity Drive, Suite 150 Los Alamos, New Mexico 87544 (505) 257-7690

RECEIVED

APR 0 3 2023

GROUND WATER QUALITY BUREAU

(240) 562-1122 Date: April 3, 2023

Refer To: N3B-2023-0109

Environmental Management

1200 Trinity Drive, Suite 400

Los Alamos, New Mexico 87544

Los Alamos Field Office

Justin D. Ball, Chief Ground Water Quality Bureau New Mexico Environment Department 1190 S. St. Francis Drive Santa Fe, NM 87502-5469

Subject: Notification of Cessation of Injection Activities as Required per the Corrective Action Plan Response and Further Action Required, Los Alamos National Laboratory Underground Injection Control Wells, DP-1835

Dear Mr. Ball:

On December 12, 2022, the New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) Ground Water Quality Bureau (GWQB) issued the "Corrective Action Plan Response and Further Action Required, Los Alamos National Laboratory Underground Injection Control Wells, DP-1835," to the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Environmental Management Los Alamos Field Office (EM-LA) and Newport News Nuclear BWXT-Los Alamos, LLC (N3B) (the Permittees). In its letter, NMED-GWQB directed the Permittees to "…cease all injections authorized under DP-1835 to prevent any potential further migration of chromium contamination," by April 1, 2023.

This letter serves as notification to NMED-GWQB that injections authorized under Discharge Permit-1835 ceased on March 31, 2023. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Permittees preserve all rights to challenge this direction from NMED.

If you have questions, please contact Christian Maupin at (505) 695-4281 (christian.maupin@emla.doe.gov) or Cheryl Rodriguez at (505) 414-0450 (cheryl.rodriguez@em.doe.gov).

Sincerely,

Robert Macfariane Program Manager Environment, Safety, Health and Quality N3B-Los Alamos

Sincerely, ARTURO DURAN

Digitally signed by ARTURO DURAN Date: 2023.03.29 15:46:47 -06'00'

Arturo Q. Duran Office of Quality and Regulatory Compliance U.S. Department of Energy Environmental Management Los Alamos Field Office

PRS website

cc (letter and enclosure[s] emailed): Laurie King, EPA Region 6, Dallas, TX Raymond Martinez, San Ildefonso Pueblo, NM Dino Chavarria, Santa Clara Pueblo, NM Steve Yanicak, NMED-DOE-OB Jason Herman, NMED-GWQB Patrick Longmire, NMED-GWQB Andrew Romero, NMED-GWQB Dave Cobrain, NMED-HWB Neelam Dhawan, NMED-HWB Rick Shean, NMED-RPD Shelly Lemon, NMED-SWQB Jennifer Payne, LANL Stephen Hoffman, NA-LA M. Lee Bishop, EM-LA John Evans, EM-LA Thomas McCrory, EM-LA Michael Mikolanis, EM-LA David Nickless, EM-LA Kenneth Ocker, EM-LA Cheryl Rodriguez, EM-LA Hai Shen, EM-LA Felicia Aguilar, N3B William Alexander, N3B Michael Erickson, N3B Vicky Freedman, N3B Kim Lebak, N3B Christian Maupin, N3B Tashia Owen, N3B Vince Rodriguez, N3B Bradley Smith, N3B Troy Thomson, N3B Amanda White, N3B emla.docs@em.doe.gov n3brecords@em-la.doe.gov Public Reading Room (EPRR)