

N3B-Los Alamos 1200 Trinity Drive, Suite 150 Los Alamos, New Mexico 87544 (505) 257-7690





**Environmental Management** Los Alamos Field Office 1200 Trinity Drive, Suite 400 Los Alamos, New Mexico 87544 (240) 562-1122

Date:

March 27, 2023

Refer To:

N3B-2023-0083

Mr. Dave Cobrain Acting Bureau Chief Hazardous Waste Bureau New Mexico Environment Department 2905 Rodeo Park Drive East, Building 1 Santa Fe, NM 87505-6313

Subject: Sediment Management Decision Tree Annual Report for Calendar Year 2022

Dear Mr. Cobrain:

This letter serves as the U.S. Department of Energy Environmental Management Los Alamos Field Office (EM-LA) and Newport News Nuclear BWXT-Los Alamos, LLC (N3B) submittal of information required by the New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) letter dated June 1, 2017, "Approval, Sediment Management Decision Tree Guidance" (HWB-LANL-17-018). In the approval letter, NMED requires submittal of an annual report that documents sediment management activities at Los Alamos National Laboratory by April 30 of each year. During the period of January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2022, there was no collection, characterization, or land application of sediment. Therefore, no sediment management data under the Sediment Management Decision Tree Guidance are reported for calendar year 2022.

If you have any questions, please contact Jennifer von Rohr at (505) 695-4365 (jennifer.vonrohr@em-la.doe.gov) or Cheryl Rodriguez at (505) 4141-0450 (cheryl.rodriguez@em.doe.gov).

Sincerely,

Robert Macfarlane Program Manager

Environment, Safety, Health and Quality

N3B-Los Alamos

Sincerely,

M Lee

Digitally signed by M Lee Bishop

Date: 2023.03.24 Bishop 12:06:15 -06'00'

M. Lee Bishop, Director

Office of Quality and Regulatory Compliance

U.S. Department of Energy **Environmental Management** 

Los Alamos Field Office

cc (letter emailed): Siona Briley, NMED-HWB Neelam Dhawan, NMED-HWB Steve Yanicak, NMED-DOE-OB Rick Shean, NMED-RPD Arturo Duran, EM-LA John Evans, EM-LA David Nickless, EM-LA Cheryl Rodriguez, EM-LA Hai Shen, EM-LA William Alexander, N3B Michael Erickson, N3B Kim Lebak, N3B Dana Lindsay, N3B Christian Maupin, N3B Karly Rodriguez, N3B Vince Rodriguez, N3B Bradley Smith, N3B Troy Thomson, N3B Jennifer von Rohr, N3B Amanda White, N3B

emla.docs@em.doe.gov n3brecords@em-la.doe.gov Public Reading Room (EPRR)

PRS Website