

N3B-Los Alamos 1200 Trinity Drive, Suite 150 Los Alamos, New Mexico 87544 (505) 257-7690





Environmental Management Los Alamos Field Office 1200 Trinity Drive, Suite 400 Los Alamos, New Mexico 87545 (240) 562-1122

Date:

March 31, 2022

Refer To:

N3B-2022-0061

Mr. Rick Shean Bureau Chief Hazardous Waste Bureau New Mexico Environment Department 2905 Rodeo Park Drive East, Building 1 Santa Fe, NM 87505-6313

Subject: Sediment Management Decision Tree Annual Report for Calendar Year 2021

Dear Mr. Shean:

This letter serves as the U.S. Department of Energy Environmental Management Los Alamos Field Office (EM-LA) and Newport News Nuclear BWXT-Los Alamos, LLC (N3B) submittal of information required by the New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) letter dated June 1, 2017, "Approval, Sediment Management Decision Tree Guidance" (HWB-LANL-17-018). In the approval letter, NMED requires submittal of an annual report that documents sediment management activities at Los Alamos National Laboratory by April 30 of each year. During the period of January 1, 2021, to December 31, 2021, there was no collection, characterization, or land application of sediment. Therefore, no sediment management data under the Sediment Management Decision Tree Guidance are reported for calendar year 2021.

If you have any questions, please contact Jennifer von Rohr at (505) 695-4365 (jennifer.vonrohr@em-la.doe.gov) or Cheryl Rodriguez at (505) 414-0450 (cheryl.rodriguez@em.doe.gov).

Sincerely,

Joseph Murdock Program Manager

Environment, Safety and Health

N3B-Los Alamos

Sincerely,

M Lee Bishop Bishop Date: 2022.03.21 11:54:54

Digitally signed by M Lee

-06'00'

M. Lee Bishop, Director Office of Quality and Regulatory Compliance U.S. Department of Energy Environmental Management Los Alamos Field Office

cc (letter emailed):

Laurie King, EPA Region 6, Dallas, TX

Siona Briley, NMED-HWB

Neelam Dhawan, NMED-HWB

Steve Yanicak, NMED-DOE-OB

Chris Catechis, NMED-RPD

Jennifer Payne, LANL

Stephen Hoffman, NA-LA

Arturo Duran, EM-LA

John Evans, EM-LA

Michael Mikolanis, EM-LA

David Nickless, EM-LA

Cheryl Rodriguez, EM-LA

Hai Shen, EM-LA

William Alexander, N3B

Emily Day, N3B

Thomas Harrison, N3B

Debby Holgerson, N3B

Danny Katzman, N3B

Kim Lebak, N3B

Joseph Legare, N3B

Dana Lindsay, N3B

Pamela Maestas, N3B

Gerald O'Leary III, N3B

Karly Rodriguez, N3B

Joseph Sena, N3B

Troy Thomson, N3B

Steve Veenis, N3B

Jennifer von Rohr, N3B

Amanda White, N3B

emla.docs@em.doe.gov

n3brecords@em-la.doe.gov

Public Reading Room (EPRR)

PRS Website