

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Environmental Management Los Alamos Field Office (EM-LA) Los Alamos, New Mexico 87544

EMLA-2022-BF031-02-001

Mr. Rick Shean Bureau Chief Hazardous Waste Bureau New Mexico Environment Department 2905 Rodeo Park Drive East, Building 1 Santa Fe, NM 87505-6313



January 27, 2022

Subject:

Letter Report for the Well R-72 Completion and Collection of First Groundwater

Samples

Dear Mr. Shean:

This letter report fulfills fiscal year (FY) 2022 milestone #5 of the 2016 Compliance Order on Consent (Consent Order), Appendix B, under the Chromium Interim Measure and Characterization Campaign. The specific milestone addressed by this deliverable is described as a letter report documenting field completion of the well and first samples completed by January 31, 2022. Monitoring well R-72 was completed on November 21, 2021. Samples were collected from the deeper screen (Screen 2) on December 19, 2021 and from the shallower screen (Screen 1) on January 9, 2022.

If you have comments or questions, please contact Sherry L Gaddy at (505) 309-1377 (sherry.gaddy@em-la.doe.gov) or Cheryl Rodriguez at (505) 414-0450 (cheryl.rodriguez@em.doe.gov).

Sincerely,

ARTURO DURAN Digitally signed by ARTURO DURAN Date: 2022.01.26 12:07:19 -07'00'

Arturo Q. Duran Compliance and Permitting Manager Environmental Management Los Alamos Field Office

cc (letter emailed):

Laurie King, EPA Region 6, Dallas, TX Raymond Martinez, San Ildefonso Pueblo, NM Dino Chavarria, Santa Clara Pueblo, NM David Gomez, Los Alamos County, Los Alamos, NM Chris Catechis, NMED-DOE-OB/-RPD Steve Yanicak, NMED-DOE-OB

Justin Ball, NMED-GWQB

J'nette Hyatt, LANL

Jennifer Payne, LANL

Stephen Hoffman, NA-LA

Peter Maggiore, NA-LA

William Alexander, N3B

Emily Day, N3B

Danny Katzman, N3B

Thomas Klepfer, N3B

Kim Lebak, N3B

Joseph Legare, N3B

Pamela Maestas, N3B

Christian Maupin, N3B

Joseph Murdock, N3B

Bruce Robinson, N3B

Joseph Sena, N3B

Troy Thomson, N3B

Steve Veenis, N3B

John Warren, N3B

Steve White, N3B

M. Lee Bishop, EM-LA

John Evans, EM-LA

Michael Mikolanis, EM-LA

David Nickless, EM-LA

Cheryl Rodriguez, EM-LA

Thomas McCrory, EM-LA

Hai Shen, EM-LA

emla.docs@em.doe.gov

n3brecords@em-la.doe.gov

Public Reading Room (EPRR)

PRS website